Picture
Today's blog asks a simple question:

Is learning a foreign language an obligation or a privilege?

Please share your thoughts below.  Remember to reply to other people's comments if you agree or disagree with them.

SOLAR
30/8/2012 06:28:14 pm

I think it could be both of them.
In my country, I need to learn English if I want to get a better job than others.
But not only for that reason, also I enjoy learning English. I like to get to know something.
I can travel foreign countries without paying to the guide!

Reply
Tiger Tiger
30/8/2012 06:29:00 pm

Like my fellow colleague said in the classroom... English is very important if you are trying to find a girlfriend in Manchester. Perhaps in Tiger Tiger tonight?

Reply
lee
30/8/2012 06:38:36 pm

gooooooooooooooo always welcome:)

Reply
7/9/2012 12:54:13 am

Always you have one way ... just gooo forward

Andrea
30/8/2012 06:30:57 pm

I think learn a foreign languague envolve part of both. Nowadays is an obligation if you want to find a well paid job. However, at the same time is a privilege because you are be able to speak with foreign people and travel around the world without problems.

Reply
Caique
30/8/2012 06:38:09 pm

Well said. I have many friends abroad so it's also a good idea to know their languages.
During my last project at work we had to deal with people from India (English), Venezuela and Argentina (Spanish). So, yeah, I agree :)

Reply
Andreina Marquina
30/8/2012 06:34:10 pm

It depends on why do you want to learn it.. I've met people who want to learn not just english but also other languages as well because they enjoy it. And there are others who need the english (or any other languaje) because they want to find a better job, to live in another country..etc

Reply
Carlos
30/8/2012 06:35:08 pm

For me, learning a foreign language is an obligation and a privilege, it depends on the focus you give to it. If you focus on enjoy learning and you use it to be in contact with different people all around the world or you use it in travelling around many countries, it's a privilege, however, if you want to have a well paid job, you also need knowledge about different languages because it will be easier for you to find a good job than someone who can speak just his language...

Reply
JCC
30/8/2012 06:37:09 pm

From my view, if you want to seek a good job, It's mandatory to speak al least English and your own language. This doesn't mean that we are here only for obligation. In fact you would be able to learn one language in your country, but for me to learn a language is not to put the words in the correct order or to learn the language rules, It is more important to understand why they said that sentences, the story behind an idiom or if the phrasal verb is told when you are angry or overjoyed. So, we need to speak English but we love speak English

Reply
lee
30/8/2012 06:37:23 pm

In my opinion, I think it is necessary for all the people to learn English as English is the most important. Furthermore, lots of people need other people who they love and talk. For example, In order to take my own family, I need to earn lots of money to bring up my children. If I fancy earning lots of money, I need to enter big company. Nowadays, people who are good at speaking English are easier to enter good company than other people who are bad at speaking English.
Therefore, Nowadays, I think it is essential and crucial for everybody to learn English.

Reply
JCC
30/8/2012 06:45:45 pm

Totally agree, I thing you have clear ideas about your future. Meanwhile the furture come, enjoy the English and the advantages that have to speak it.

Reply
night
6/9/2012 09:40:29 pm

I strongly agree, I worked in pharmaceutical company two years ago, we have to different guidlines British pharmcopia and United state pharmacopia.I think all medicine companies are very important these guidlines.If you want to have a good job and position, you must learn more language.

Reply
Min
30/8/2012 06:37:38 pm

To me, learning English is an obligation. Nowdays, English is kind of fundamental things, so when I started to learn English, it wasn't my choice. I felt I have to do it. Honestly, I used to hate it.(Now I really enjoy learning English in Manchester!)
However, I've also learned Japanese because of my grandfather. I love my grandfather and he is the most respectable person I've ever met. He was born in Japan so he could speak Japanese like native speaker. When I chose to study Japanese, it is only for speak with him by using Japanese. In this case, it is totally privileged. I really enjoyed it because I loved to speak it with my grandfather.

Reply
Amin
30/8/2012 06:37:47 pm

I think learning foreign language in these days tends to be necessity. You may find few people study other language as privilege but not so much.

Reply
Braduxx
30/8/2012 06:40:34 pm

Compulsory french is on our scedule in Switzerland, just as English is. It's astonishing that the pupils like English but don't like going to French classes although one third of Swiss are speaking French as maternal language.

Reply
ARW
30/8/2012 06:40:49 pm

I studied languages simply because I like them. It's a skill that develops your communication and personal skills. It opens doors to new opportunities, you get to visit places that you've never dreamed of and of course, make friends! It's proven that studying a foreign languages increases IQ and develops your personality. I think it's really important you enjoy learning and make the most of the opportunities you have. A day without smiling, is a day wasted :)

Reply
SOLAR
30/8/2012 06:46:03 pm

I agree. I also want to learn French and Spanish XD

Reply
Carlos
30/8/2012 06:46:39 pm

I'm totally agree, you can really enjoy with other different languages and its very useful to know new people, and I'm agree too with the Chaplin's Quote :D

Reply
Andreina Marquina
30/8/2012 06:47:01 pm

yes indeed! the procces of learning the language is also a great experience if you can take the course in the native country :) and the best part of all this is to meet people from all over the world

Reply
cecile H
7/9/2012 01:00:53 am

Andreinaaaaaaaaa you're right ! The best is to live in the country where you are learning the language ^^

Gerardo
30/8/2012 06:44:09 pm

I think the question can be formulate in other way. For me learn enaglish is both. An obligation becausem nowadays many important companies are recluted peolpe with the ability to communicate with others around the world to improve their buisness and we know that the most used lenguage is english. Also is a privilege because of the big demand and the expensive courses. For example in my country if you want to learn english you have to pay a lot of money for a good course, thats why is better to go to countries like USA or the UK, not everybody can afford things like that.

Reply
Julian
30/8/2012 07:59:14 pm

Good point Gerardo, no-one else has said much about financial privileges. Do you think that many people simply cannot afford the time and money for a "luxury" like learning another language?

Reply
Amin
30/8/2012 06:46:39 pm

Yes of curse, it is better to love what are you studying

Reply
salman alfhead
6/9/2012 09:25:48 pm

I think learning english could be the both . I think obligation like me becuse i want to learn English to be a doctor in the future so i need the English language . as well as it could be privilege like some people .they want to learn english just for enjoying .there are many reason . I know a student who learn an english to be a gentleman (strange reason )




Reply
woo woo
6/9/2012 09:29:12 pm

for me i agree. My opinion i think booth because in these days the english is very important for every things in our lives ( jobs and study ).So the english language form my opinion is the important language because when you go to any places you can find alot of people speak english. So i think the english is the maine language in the world>

Reply
Fahad
6/9/2012 09:38:44 pm

In fact, learn different language is interesting. When I started learn English . I could feel unhappy because all the time I was shy but nowadays,I feel comfortable when I talk English.

I hope to learn French and Spanish in next days. If the person teaches me. I grateful that.

Reply
7/9/2012 01:01:20 am

In my opinion , the most important foreign Language is English
but if you learn another language that well be good for you especially if you like travel to foreign countries .

Reply
Chrissy
7/9/2012 01:02:03 am

I think be able to speak English is a better way to cnnect the world.
Also it is useful skill when you plan to find a good job in the future. However, you have to keep passion for learning English every day.

Reply
Paula
7/9/2012 01:02:18 am

Hello,
having the oportunity of to study is a privilege, because few people can do this. In my country, around 1% of the population can graduate from university because the governament not improve this kind thinks. learning other language is a big deal and if people can do this in another country is very good for get a good job.

Reply



Leave a Reply.