Picture
My part of the beach outside my room.... :D
I know most of you have come to Manchester to learn English - but you should try and visit other places such as the Lake District, the Peak District, Edinburgh, York...and also Europe if you can!

I have travelled to many countries around the world such as China, New Zealand, America, Canada, France, Spain, Australia, Germany, Turkey - just to name a few!  O.K. I haven't been to Saudi Arabia, but I almost feel I am there when I work here (haha only joking!!!).  It is definitely the next new place I want to visit though!  Just to see my student, Abdullah's pet tiger! (I know!!!!  A tiger in his house!!!)

Anyway, because I have travelled to so many places, I have stayed in many hotels and hostels.  The best one was in Fiji.  It was so beautiful and I could see the sea from my window and I had my own part of the beach! 

But I have stayed in some TERRIBLE places!  One place had cockroaches, another, the people were very rude.  But the worst hostel I have ever stayed in was in Hawaii.  There was a strange man who sang to himself in his bed - even though it was dark and we were all trying to sleep!  He was very messy and one day he flooded the toilet and I couldnt have a shower because the dirty water was everywhere!  I left the next day as quickly as possible!

So, what about you?  What are the best/worst hotels/hostels you have ever stayed in??  Are they worse/better than where I stayed??? Remember to 'name and shame'* any bad hostels/hotels by giving their name and location!

Sarah Davies.

*Name and shame - To identify people or places to embarrass them

Picture
The horrible hostel I stayed in, in Hawaii!!! EWWWWW!
Juan Luzardo Intermidate
18/10/2012 02:07:05 am

I have been in a lot of country’s as United States, Colombia, Mexico, Aruba, Spain, France just to name a few. I like to travel a lot the best place I ever stayed was in New York it was a very luxury hotel and very comfortable with a good location, The only bad place that I been was in Panama City a House of my mother friend I didn’t like it because it was located in the hearth of the city and I couldn’t sleep well and the room didn’t had air conditioner and it didn’t have hot water and the water was freezing and I didn’t like at all the house.

Reply
Amanda Costa Intermidate
18/10/2012 02:22:24 am

Sometimes it’s a ‘trying the luck’ situation. When I was younger, I travelled to the beach with my family. We were going to stay at my father’s friend house, and we had never seen the house, so was kind of surprise situation!
When we opened the door of the house we face in a living room full of sand. During the day we realise that we had company…the house had a lot of termites! When we were sitting on the sofa or lying in bed, we felt wood dust falling on your heads! The plumbing of the house wasn’t working very well, so to take shower or wash something you had to have a lot of pacient. Oh, and and the roof was leaking too!!
Although was quite of fun stay there!

Reply
Natalia Intermediate 4
18/10/2012 02:22:54 am

The worst place was at the coldest city of the region that I live in Brazil. The city called Campos do Jordao. It’s a beautiful city and I love it there, but one time my family and I stayed at my grandmother’s friend’s house. The house was made of wood and without a heater and that time was the coldest winter in 60 years. It was very, very cold. When we turned on the tap was without water because it was frozen. All the cousins had to sleep together to keep warm. We stayed there for 2 horrible nights, but nowadays it’s a funny memory. Every time we are planning a vacation we remember about this house.

Reply
Laith Adnan H
18/10/2012 02:27:35 am

My worst accommodation is here in the UK. it’s the home-stay I’m living in and I think it’s the worst because some things in my point of view are so important, and here are some of them. The first reason is that I like to sleep and I don’t like when anyone disturbs me and here in this home stay when you go up or down on the stairs it makes a loud noise so I don’t like this and sometimes I wake up at 8 because of this. The second reason is sometimes when I go back home from school I feel very tired and I’m not in the mood to talk to anyone and the woman I’m living with wants me to go and talk with her about how was my day and other things and I just want to go to my room to take a rest then I can go and communicate and laugh with them. The third reason is that I like to put my clothes on the chair in order to wear it quickly and go out but she wants me to put everything in the closet.
those are some of the reasons why I want to leave this house and these things annoy me and make my holiday not so good.

Reply
Petr B Int 4
18/10/2012 02:28:31 am

I think that my worst accommodation in my whole life was in Tunisia. I was there on my vacation a few years ago. The place wasn’t that bad I actually liked it, but the hotel wasn’t that good [was real mess]. In the bathroom lived a lot of insects such as roaches, flies etc. They were everywhere even while we were having a shower they annoyed us with the noise they did. I really didn’t enjoy staying in that hotel so we decided to move to another one and all was fine after moving.
I have some positive experiences from the hotels as well. We were staying in Dubai for 2 weeks 8 years ago. It was beautiful time out there. The hotel was really beautiful but unfortunately I can’t remember the name but it was like in heaven. All the employees were so nice to us they did everything we wanted for us. I am going to visit Dubai again in the future, such a wonderful place.

Reply
JC intermidate 4
18/10/2012 02:30:59 am

My worst experience was in London with my colombian friends we arrived to london by train. we reserve a hostel, when we got to the hostel the hostel was terrible, too unclean, too dirty and we had one room for the all people staying there. When I saw that I said I cant stay here for one minute more, I need to go because I have my bag my laptop and we just have one toliet for all, I dont like that.

Reply
fabian intermidate 4
18/10/2012 02:32:15 am

my worst experience was in italy. I arrived to a good hotel but the people there were very rude.Also I had an incoveniets with a bodyguard and it was a very big problem between my father and the hotel's staff . I have visited many places arround the world but definitly I had a bad experience there. I would like to go to japan. I haven't been there before and I have a lot of friends there. I would like to arrive to an expensive hotel. I hope to reach my goal soon .

Reply
Jacob
18/10/2012 02:35:01 am

The worst place that I stayed in was when I was a soldier about 3 years ago. There was a special drill in every season and it was summer. We usually went to a mountain for a drill. When we went there, it was heavy raining and we had to make a tent for sleeping but the ground was full of water. Though it was wet our commander was strong-minded. We had no choice and made the tent. When we were drilling, the rain was getting stronger than before. We just were lying on the ground and rolling. Our body was soaking in the water but we were still drilling. After that, we were running up the mountain with our war outfits on. It was horrible and very heavy. Anyway, when we went the top of the mountain we had to roll again and our body was a mess because of the sand and mud. There was no water for taking a shower just there was a water fall and a small gorge. Though it was summer the water was freezing cold because it was in the mountain. Were there any choices? No. We just took a shower while shaking. Finally, the sun sunk and the night came then we went to the tent for relaxing and sleeping. But, as it rained the tent was soaking in the water. Everything was wet and outside was windy as well so we just took a sleeping bag and slept on the ground without the tent. After that, fortunately we finished our drill safely. It was a kind of terrible place when I even have slept in my life.

Reply
Lu_inter4
18/10/2012 02:36:38 am

Normally, when I have been on holidays, I have booked my hotel on a trusted website, and always I trust that my hotel is good.
Maybe, my worst experience with a hotel is when I went on holidays to Lisboa with 10 people more. My friend booked a hostel near to the city centre, but when arrived there, we could be that the hostel was so old that the facade of the hostel was falling, inside of the hostel was repaired and the rooms were spacious. Our surprise was when we were asleep and outside was raining and inside also was raining, there was a leak for the entire hostel. Every body woke up and we had to change another rooms. All our clothes and shoes were wet, and the next day we have anything to wear. Now it is funny to remember it, but in this moment we couldn’t believe what happened.

Reply
Roxana, Intermediate 4
18/10/2012 02:37:13 am

I want to share a bad experience I had 3 years ago. My family and I decided to take a trip to Cancun and we booked on a website. We were very excited to reach our destination and when we arrived, we were shocked.
At first, my father went to the front desk and asked for our room’s keys. The lady told us there was a mistake in our reservation and that we needed to wait at least 1 hour; we waited until there were a free room.
When we finally had a room, we entered and were horrified because of the awful facilities. There was an unpleasant smell coming out of the bathroom and all the blankets were full of sand!!
We got upset and complained to the manager; he got embarrassed and offered us a suite for the same price we were paying for the regular room. At least, we enjoyed the private entrance to the sea the suite had.

Reply
Maria Intermediate 4
18/10/2012 02:38:03 am

The best place where I have been was in a beautiful hotel in Bolivia “The Ritz”, it was amazing, The bedroom was very long, with a big bed and comfortable pillows, when I opened the curtains, the windows was a beautiful view of the biggest mountain in La Paz.
The bathroom was perfect, had a tub with hot water and very clean, every day the staff put chocolate on the bed. The people in Bolivia are very friendly and generous, they always smiled.
On another side the food was different but definitly delicious, there was my first time that I tasted llama, is a typical animal from the Andes Mountains. La Paz is the highest capital in the world very cold and dry in the same time, that is the reason that sometimes my nose bled, but I want to come back one day.

Reply
bander Int4
18/10/2012 02:40:10 am

I have the worst and the best experience in the same trip. I have been to kuala lumpur and before I went there I called my friend to arrange my stay there in a hotel. I called him one day before my flight and he confirmed to me the reservation. When I arrived I called him from the airport and he did not answer me. After an hour he answered me and told me that he did not make any thing. So I made my reservation from the offices in the airport. When I entered to the room and there was a bad smell and the room very dirty also some insects on the bed.

Reply
Alyssa Int2
18/10/2012 08:01:28 pm

I don' have one particular best place because in general the hotels where I went were good. Not too good not too bad. I went to very good hostels and even if it's not the best places it cheep and cheerful! I have a lot of memories thanks to that but the worst I think was in Italy. We were in bungalows and we had to cook by ourselves in a filthy kitchen. I remember when we were in the bungalow with two other students there were some cockroaches. At the moment, we were a little bit disgusted but now when we tink about it it's quite funny.

Reply
Antonio Int.2
18/10/2012 08:08:27 pm

Horrid Hotels !!!
Absolutely false. All places could be ok you only must have sense of humour and enjoy of the details. Could been cocraches or other kind of insects, so when you are seeing their remember: "You aren't visiting one hotel, you are knowing a new special city. ENJOY IT!!!". I had in a differents kind of hotels but the most importat issue on the tryp had been my company". Obviusly always should been the minimal condicions for hygine and health. You can waste your money but you are pouring it down the draing.

Reply
Rabee
18/10/2012 08:09:16 pm

Hi,
I am Rabee from Saudi Arabia.I like to travel to new country but some time I hate this country because of the hotel or the rules. The best city I visit is Kuala Lumpur and the hotel was very nice.
The hotel name is Grand Melenium its 5 star and very comfortable with a nice location on the Arab Street. It was cheap an I like the people who works there with a good service . On other hand, the worst home stay I was in is the hotel on Bahrain because its very tidy with out water in the bathroom and some of the light did not working. I just stay there for one hour and I took to the manger to return my money back.
Now before book any hotel I search for it and check with the people how tried this hotel to see if is it good or not.

Thanks

Reply
Marisa Int.2
18/10/2012 08:11:04 pm

The best place where I have been is in Tunisia. It was the first time that I went out the Europe. I was in a big incredibly beautiful hotel and the people of this country were very kin and friendly I had an in suite bathroom with a big bed and wheb I opened the curtains I saw a a wonderful sea view. Everyday the staff came to clean my room so it was always absolutely immaculate. On another side there were a lot of entertainment and the food was very good.
I enjoyed all the time that I spent there. It was amazing trip !

Reply
Kensuke Int2
18/10/2012 08:14:01 pm

The best hotel where I have ever stayed in Japan is Gyokei-kan in a neighbourhood located to the east of Chiba prefecture, next to Tokyo. The room was so big, immaculate and installed the latest facilities. In addition to that, the hotel provided us spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean from the room. The most importantly staffs in the hotel were so kind. Since I have ever stayed a lot of hotel whose room rates go through the roof with bad services, I think that this hotel is cost-effective. If you had a chance to go to Japan, you should try to stay there.

Reply
Rafael Rosa
18/10/2012 08:14:19 pm

I have been in so many places. The best trip was to Salvador. Is a big city in the northwest of Brazil. The hotel was very cosy and absolutely immaculate. I stayed 1 week in a cosy room, in front of the beach and with a big swimming pool. Salvador is a very interesting city and had a lot on my plate, so i was thinking about put off my return, but the prices had gone through the roof. I had saved some money before, but i didn’t want poured my money down the drain, so i returned to Rio.

My worst trip was when i went to London. I stayed at a hostel at the central city. Was a rubbish!. The toilets were absolutely filthy, the bed was uncomfortable and the room was very messy. Was more 10 people in the same room, and one guy drove me up the wall because him had snored very high and i couldn’t slept. I think the manager of the hostel had a skeleton in his cupboard, because he was rude and suspicion. That was the most disgusting place that i `ve ever been.

Reply
July Int 2
18/10/2012 08:14:27 pm

I have visitied some contries and always I try to find a comfortable hotel, and the best hotel I have been is in Curacao, The Marriot Hotel is amazing, our room was spacious and absolutely clean and tidy, had a king size beed with many soft pillows and the all bed linen was white everything looked very clean!
From the large window and the terraze you could see the sea and a part of the big pool, everyday when I opened my eyes I enjoyed a incredible view. This hotel it's expensive but worth it.
In other trips I have been in cheaper hotels and the experience hasn't been so good.

Reply
Nabil int2 from Marseille
18/10/2012 08:15:26 pm

Hi everybody,
I travelled in few countries like Spain, France, Switzerland, Algeria, England, Morocco and Martinique..
The best hotel when I was it's in Spain. In a city called Vila Seca, near Salou.
The name of this hotel is Aparthotel Atenea Aventura 4*. It's a beautiful place, there is a swimming pool, a spa, a restaurant, a bar, a jacuzzi, gym etc...
The bedroom was so cosy and quiet.
But, the best of this travel, I was there when the national football team of Spain won the EURO CUP 2008 against Germany !!!!! Fernando Torres scored the goal.
It was so amazing. People partied all night.
It's a beautiful memory for me.
Bye !!!

Reply
Ibra-Inter (2)
18/10/2012 08:15:44 pm

I had travelled around counties many times before I visited London the first time. It was the terrible journey which I hadn’t had before. I decided to travel when I was starting working. I booked a hotel and bought a plane ticket when I was browsing throw the Internet. I chose my dirty hotel I think from the famous website which called (Booking). I had had an offer then I decided to get it. I was just seeing it throw some fake pictures.
When I had arrived ton the hotel I shocked. It was filthy comparing with the pictures. A room was a very small, a narrow single bed and a bathroom was on the third floor while my room was on the first floor. I thought about moving to another hotel but the price goes through the roof.
So I advice everybody to read any comments before choose the hotel because the pictures were not enough.

Reply
Rodrigo Marini CLASS INTERMEDIATE 2
18/10/2012 08:16:36 pm

Hi, I'm Rodri and now I want to tell you about my travels and hotels.
I love to travel around of the world althought I'm a little vague hahaha. I have visited a lot of countries: Spain, Austria, France, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Uruguay, USA, Italy, Denmark, Holland...and now I'm living In Manchester, England. In the future I would ike to travel to Chec Republic and Poland but I am not sure when I can do it, I hope in few time.
Well, I like cosy and luxuries hotels but I can sleep in a cheap hotel, like "Bed & Breakfast", campings, hostels without stars etc. But, of course, like all smartly people I love the expensive hotels. One of the best hotel that I have been in my life was in Valencia, Spain. This hotel was much elegant, very confortable and I'm remembering their lamps, so original! And the most important for me, it was in the city center of Valencia, close council. I'm afraid because I have forgotten his name and the price, sorry again, my girlfriend paid and booked the room, sorry!
The worst hotel where I have been sleeping was in Argentina, in "The Iguazu's Cataracts". I travelled with my friend Jaime, from Spain, and when we arrived to this hotel we could see a lots cockroaches inside the bathroom. Anyway, it was normally, the hotel was in the jungle and we didn't pay much money, it was really cheap for us. I didn't like that messy room, I'm not very tidy but the hotel was absolutely dirty for me. If you want to trip to Iguazu's Cataracts you musn't choose this hotel. Be careful, okay?
That's all for today.
Rodri

Reply
Chris Int2
18/10/2012 08:17:09 pm

I visited some nice contries in the world for example the UK, Switzerland, Austria, Turkey, Spain, Portugal and Canada. I could say if more you pay, the better is the hotel. The best hotel where I had ever been in Portugal. The holiday was 2 year ago. It was a nice habour city called Lagos and the hotel was in the middle of this city. It was not a big mordern hotel, but it was a nicy traditional hotel. The hotel had 40 rooms and there was a swimming pool, a excting spa area and a breakfest, which I never had before. There ware so many fruits. It was a five stars deluxe resport. Every hour a bus drove to the beach, where a private beach was. On the beach weren't lies, but you could lie on a summer beds there. It was so relexing, because in the whole hotel wasn't mobile phone, computers and things, which make noise allowed. That was my best holiday ever.

Reply
Mubarak intr
18/10/2012 08:17:38 pm

I have been travel a lot around the world , but the most enjoyable in travel is when discover something now . That what happened to me .
Last weekends i want in trip with one of my friends to Copenhagen the capitals of Denmark , It was an adventure to visit one of the Scandinavian countries , we booked the flight tickets and the a hotel as well . it was 4 star hotel not a luxury but we chose the location , it in the city centre just near for every thing . was raining when were arrived to the hotel , I cheeked in it was single room but it was nice a clean and tidy . and the bed was cosy , there was an ice bar coaled ICEBAR , every thing made from ice even the glasses .we had had glass of drinks . I like it ….

Reply
Int 2 Mussad
18/10/2012 08:18:29 pm

I travelled to many countries and hope to continue this in the future. I had almost good experience in hotels but not every thing goes right all time. I had booked one bed room in London and when I arrived to the hotel it was shear bathrooms. I didn’t notice that in room details so it was uncomfortable. The other thing was there is no lift in the hotel and I had three big luggage so it was miserable satiation for me.

Reply
Saif
18/10/2012 08:18:49 pm

I want to share my bad experience , I have been to Morocco and I stayed in a hotel which my friend recommended to me. The hotel fure stars I dont know how got that level. It was like cheap and cheerful hotel in the other place in world. I couldn't residence in it mor than one night. The room was old and uncomfortable and the bathroom absolutely spotles as snug as a bug in a rug.In the second day we had to changed to 5 stars hotel and it was very clean , cosy and very nice to live beacuse it was really comfortable and all of thing was OCD.

Reply
Chrystel Lower intermediate
25/10/2012 11:58:35 pm

I had a good experience in New York this summer with my friends. We found a great hotel whose price is within our budget. His name is "Seton Hotel". We have rooms with bathrooms commumes.

And I was actually surprised by the cleanliness of the bathrooms. And the rooms was very good for us. And the reception was all the time at our listening and helping us find places and advise us. The hotel is very clean and the staff was really friendly.

Reply
Low Int 6 Tatsuo okuno
26/10/2012 12:13:16 am

I have been to some country. Hawaii, Australia , Philippines,and UK.
and my worst hotel that I've ever was in Edinburgh.
At first, when we arrived at the hotel, there was no people in front.
So had to wait long time until the hotel manager come.
and next we couldn't choose how to pay. only credit card but when I was booking the hotel , confirmed that can pay by cash.
In spite of I didn't wannna use credit card.
Finally, at night I tried to take a shower, but I couldn't turn on the light in the bath room. so we had to take a shower in darkness
This is my experience in the hotel.

Reply
Luigi De Gouveia Low Intermediate
26/10/2012 12:14:58 am

I have been in differents place around America, my favorite was in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. I remembered the resort perfectly, was very big, had many pools and all day had different activites like shows in the theater, pool games, matchs and more funny activities.

The room was very big and comfortable, with a beautiful views towards the sea, the food was amazing, I could eat all I wanted was unlimited and at night I could go to dance at the disco.

One terrible experience was in Margarita Island, Venezuela. I was in terrible hotel, the rooms wasn't very uncomfortables, sometimes the lifts don't worked and was necessary use the stairs and in that time in the island rationed the eletricity and don't have air conditioner, was very terrible, if do you want go to Margarita Island, don't go to Lake Plaza Resort, select other options.

Reply
Low Int. Ariadna
26/10/2012 12:16:13 am



Hi! well the best travel that i haved was in madrid. I stay 1 week in a home of my friend Oscar, I visited a lot of places like squares, shopppings, museums,restaurants and shows. Also i aet a lot of very good food in a restaurants and buy clothes or others things in a good price or off seal 50%, it was the first time that i have been in europe! i whant to repet this travel!!!

But my worst travel was when i goes to the beach with my family, we stayed in a holiday aparment. Before i go to this place, i didn't see the place so when i goes te toilets were filthy, the bed was uncomfortable and the room was messy!! so sad!

Reply
WEIXIN
26/10/2012 12:16:21 am

I think i had a good experience to HongKong three years ago with my cousin.We lived in a great hotel and we had a good time in HongKong.Its name is 'Jubin Hotel',on the NineDragon Street.

It was better than you,guy.Your experience was so terrible.(A Ha Ha!).I taked many photo with my cousin and shopping.I think I like this time.

Reply
Jose Ramirez Lower interm class6
26/10/2012 12:16:35 am

I just know a few hotels, I was in Germany 3 years ago for 20 days, and San Diego California 2 years ago for 15 days, in Germany the hotel's cost was more expensive than in USA, the night was 90 euros, bed and breakfast, the room was cleaned, the breakfast was self-service, different options, bread, jam, cheese, cereal, milk, fruit juice, the service was good. In the USA the room was better, I had TV, it was more confortable, the price was USD70, but the breakfast wasn't include in the price. for south-american people is more esy to travel to USA than Europe, because in the USA is chepper the hotels and food. ok! I know that Europe is more interesting, but USA also has a few interesting places.

Reply
karim
26/10/2012 12:17:09 am

What about me.... i have the bads and goods memory. So my best memory it was in Las Vegas, i will never forget this moment. We were in hotel Monte Carlo 4 stars. This hotel is amazing there was lot of people and a good ambiance. Its pool is very big with good music and all pepole danced. I have met some frends in Monte Carlo. Las vegas is very good city for hollidays, i saw the yougs around the world that were in this place just for have good time.

My worst hotel in Perpignan in south of de France. It was horrible, i saw the cockroaches on the floor. I chosen this hotel because i went to spain and i wanted to sleep and i haven't the choice ...

Reply
Hiromi Yamasaki
26/10/2012 12:17:18 am

I visited to Goldcoast in Australia on two years ago and stayed at very nice hotel. It had so beutiful view. I moved when I looked a fiery sunset and the sea. And then, it was a big shopping center near the hotel.
I enjoyed that tour. I want to go there again!

Reply
26/10/2012 12:21:25 am

I want to recommend the small inn named "MEMORY". It is located Lijiang city Yunnan province China.When I first time have been there,I was attracted by the window of room.Because you can saw the big lake here. And many folklric furnishing were in room.
There were kind and warm-heart wairters.
There was comfortable room.
And the most important the price was very cheerful for students!

Reply
Mohamed
26/9/2013 06:46:56 pm

I have been in a lot of countries and I have seen a lot of problem . One time when I have been in London I was watching T.V suddenly the all the lights and T.V in my room switch off I felt angry and scared due to I couldn't see any things. The room was very dark I was searched for my phone to use my screen light to watch . Fortunately I found my phone after that I went out to the reception and I talked with them for this problem and thy fixed the problem very fast

Reply



Leave a Reply.