Picture
This week's topic for pre-intermediate students is food.  We want you to share your thoughts about British food on this blog.

  • What is your favourite kind of food that you have tasted here in Manchester?
  • What do you think of British food?  What are the differences between food here in the UK and food in your country?
  • What do you think is the best food in your country?  How do you make it?

Juan Barrera
29/8/2012 06:41:31 pm

the best food in my country is "Arepa" You take one piece of dough and fry it. After you cut it in the middle Then take a slice of cheese and ham and put intu the dough this is for breakfast somepeople eat it with eggs .

Reply
Mohamed El Saheli
7/11/2012 05:22:37 pm

Don't forget the "Pabellon"...

Reply
Tseng Ching-Hui
29/8/2012 06:43:19 pm

I think the british food is kind of bland. It's cold sandwich or fried chips and hot dogs,and everything is with ketchup! In Taiwan we usually don't like to eat cold food,and we use many spices or sauce. I think these are the bigest differences.

Reply
Esther Chien
29/8/2012 06:43:58 pm

British food is not so bad compared with my image,but it is less varied than my country,we don't have many choices in England,except cooking yourself,and most English food is cold,there's a big difference with my country,and in my country,it's more diversified and cheap.

Reply
Jacob Ahn
29/8/2012 06:53:54 pm

Before I came to UK, I heard that British foods are the worst in the world. When I came here, I lived in homestay and could eat British foods. It was not too bad. But sometimes I couldn't eat some foods. Natually, My host can't cook very well but mostly it was good. The problmes are that First, it is usually oily. second, they eat lots of potatoes. Thrid, I think thay they don't care about eating time. Based on my experience they look really free. I saw that when it's lovely weather in Manchester, they sit on the grass in Piccadilly garden and talk with their friend while eat some sandwhichs and juices.

Reply
Nasser Almajedi
29/8/2012 06:44:45 pm

My favourite kind of food in Manchester is Peparoni Pizza, I ate it in PIZZA EXPRESS, its tasted salty and spicy. And I had with it orange juice, that`s Really very nice

Reply
Andrea Nava
29/8/2012 06:45:38 pm

British food is totally different to italian food. i don`t like British food (for example fish and chips) because it seems to be too heavy and unhealthy-giving for example the english breakfast with bacon and fried vegetable, but my opinion is not enough because i don`t know about many others british foods and then there may exist some good food. in finally try to think.

Reply
Kazuki Matsui
29/8/2012 06:46:45 pm

I come from Japan and I think the best japanese food is tonkatsu. first prepare a pork ,egg,a flour, bread crumbs and vegetable oil. second slice the pork, and put it into the flour with a raw egg and bread crumbs. third put plenty of vegetable oil in a pan and deep fry it for 15 minites. finally remove it before it burns.

Reply
Daniel Calabuig Rodriguez
29/8/2012 06:47:59 pm

In my country there is Potato Omellete from Spain. It's not difficult to prepare it. The ingredients are: -4 Potatoes, size medium -4 Eggs, size large -Salt -Olive Oil Firtsly you must peel all potatoes, and rainse it with water. When you finish, you slice the potatoes, and after frying it frying pan with very hot olive oil. While the potatoes are frying you must beat the eggs in a bowl and add salt. After you put everything together in a other bowl and remove it. Finally you put it fryingpan and cook the potato omellete for 5 minutes each side.

Reply
Mohammad M alamoudi
29/8/2012 06:50:02 pm

The best food in my country is Kabsa. How to make it i don`t know but I will try to explain to cook the meat has a lot of fat so we use chiken,boil the rice and boil chiken a little then take the chiken but let to rice still boil. (( its short explain my mom do it always because that i can`t speak to much about it ))

Reply
Amin
30/8/2012 09:43:07 pm

It’s my favourite especially lamb kabsa.You can make it with vegetables as well.

Reply
Salman Alfhead
29/8/2012 06:54:23 pm

the best food in my country is rice with chicken, to make it you need rice ,chicken ,salt ,some vegetable like tomatoes ,lemon ,cucumber ,lettus and potato ,first you should soak the rice on the water then you boil the rice after that yoyu should clean the chicken ,then you put it in the stove .after that you slice the tomatoes ,lemon amd lettuce and put it above the rice and you can put the salte above the rice and you you can eat it with adobe which is similar to milk

Reply
Simone Bucherer
30/8/2012 09:43:17 pm

Before I came to Manchester I tought that British food is not that good very unhealthy and a lot of fried food. Now I have been here for a few days and I think the food is not as bad as I thought it would be. The food in my hostfamily is quite good and very variable. My favourite kind of food that I have tasted here so far was pasta with salmon sauce. In Switzerland we eat a lot of pasta, vegetables, beef and chicken. And of course during the winter we eat cheese meals. My favourite food in my countrie would be "Aelplermagronen", these are already cooked maccaronies and pieces of patatoes with a milk-cheese sauce and we bake it in the oven for about 20min.

Reply
Tobias Mueller
30/8/2012 09:43:46 pm

The best food i have tried until now was some indian food at my hostfamily. British food i think is unhealthy and not to tasty. The biggest differenzes between britishfood and german is that british food is much more international. But finaly i have to say that british food isn't as bad as i thought. There are some tasty things i like a lot. The best food in Germany is i think very similar to the roast dinner but with other sidedishes and we normaly use pork or beef for it. But it's very special so we don't eat it a lot.

Reply
Victor
30/8/2012 09:43:56 pm

The best food I've tasted in Manchester is Turkish food in a Turkish restaurant. I have also tasted the full English breakfast, but it's quite heavy for the morning, with all that beans, fried things and such.

I've no favourite British food, because for me British food isn't food. In my country, spain, I think we have the best food, with a lot of healthy options also. We have lot's of nice seafood, meat, salads and more dishes from the mediterranean diet.

In my country, the best dish you can taste is the octopus cooked in galician style, called 'Pulpo a Feira'. For cooking eat, you need fresh octopus (once fished, you have to hit hard it against the rocks, otherwise you won't be able to chew it), boil it with and it is served with paprika and olive oil.

Reply
Min
30/8/2012 09:44:15 pm

I tried Brazilian food in Manchester and it was my first time to try it. It was awesome. I loved it. It is more than good:) I also tried British food like fish and chips and sunday roast. Even though I don't enjoy fish, it was good and sunday roast was amazing! At that time, I realised UK also have good meal. Many people think Korean food are spicy. I enjoy spicy food but for foreigner, we also have mild food. Basically, We eat rice every meal with many diffrent type of side dishes. Side dishes are usually three or four for a meal. To make traditianal Korean food, you rarely use oil. We usually boil, steam and so on. So it's quite healty:)

Reply
Cilou
30/8/2012 09:44:29 pm

I had the chance to taste lot of kinds of food here in Manchester, Turkish, Japanese, Spanish, Thai and even Jamaican food !! That is right that it is not very easy to find a very tasteful meal in the UK. However i was surprised to learn that an English food exists !! I agree there is not lot of choice but i would like to taste roast dinner ;)

Reply
Gerardo
30/8/2012 09:45:37 pm

My favorite food here in Manchester maybe is the Korean food I have a good friend that have bben cooked for me two times and is amazing!!. In the other hand I think Brithis food is not so good maybe because I only tried a few meals but I'll try more of this food to make a good review. The differences with the food in my country are huge starting with the taste because I'm from Mexico and is well know that we have spicy food but also well condimented so you can tasted in every bite, it's delicious. Maybe one of the most typical meals in my country is "carne con chile" that means beef with chili and is not famous like "Tacos" but is a common meal in Mexico for lunch and is simple to made. you cook the beef with chili, and is accompained with rice and mexican beans.

Reply
andres ehrhardt
30/8/2012 09:49:43 pm

one of my favorite food here in england is fish and ships, I dont know why but I like a lot, even I didnt like to eat fish before came here, I has a wrong idea about the british food, i tought that the food here was not tasty and very unhealthy but I was mistaken, is hust very diferent than in my country.

Reply
Federica Masini
30/8/2012 09:50:12 pm

Well, the food in general here in Manchester is unhealthy.
Everything is fried, with strong taste and a lot of fats calories! The main kind of food eaten is meat and the vegetables used the most are potatos, onions and beans.
I am from Italy, and in my country we take care a lot of the way we cook and what we eat. I could say that Italian food is pretty much more healthy than English one.
The best meal in my country I think it's Risotto. It has a really good and delicate taste, it's not much caloric so it's helthful and you can cook it with whatever you want! My favorite version is with mushrooms! Taste it!

Reply
David
6/9/2012 09:17:50 pm

Well, I am a supporter of slow food and it makes me sad when I see all the plastic waste when you eat fast food. I prefer pasta and mediterian food. I am also try to be a vegan, but thats impossible in england speccialy in a hostfamily. On the other hand I like the english breakfast, because it gives me power for the full day. And now, find your way to deal with the english food!

Reply
meme
6/9/2012 09:18:18 pm

Hi, every one my vaforit food in my country colld "Kabsah" it's rice with chekan or meat.In uk i heat the cold food. it's make me feel seak.I don't know how they can eat it.

Reply
big boss
7/9/2012 01:02:40 am

sorry meme , I think u need a Dr cos u like a greasy food which make u obese and lazy . if u like rice u can eat it with kidney beans
i dont now why most of arab people likes junk food . good luck my friend .

Reply
Fahad
6/9/2012 09:24:19 pm

The English food is beautiful and tasty. All food in Machester is fantastic .

Reply
Abdulhakim Mohamed
6/9/2012 09:42:30 pm

The best food in my country, Libya are couscous and pasta. Couscous like rice. We can cook couscous and add above it soup with vegetable such as potato, tomato, pumpkin and meet or chickin. It is very delicious. We also prepare pasta with meet or chickin.

Reply
woo
6/9/2012 09:43:08 pm

I think british food isn't healthy. The best food in my country is (kabsa) that made by rice with meat.

Reply
khelad khris
6/9/2012 09:43:30 pm

I dont like British food spically cold sandwichs but therare are good resturants serving Amerecan and Itallian food like T.G.I Friday and Zizi. Also you can try the delicious Arabic and Indian food at Rushlome Street.
in our country (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) the most famous meal called Kabsah It is cooked by rice with lamb or chicken but there are many kindes and tastes of it. Depend on the population of each region in the Kingdom.

Reply
....
7/11/2012 05:28:06 pm

I love eating i love word eat

i like all food

Reply
chen
7/11/2012 05:30:03 pm

My favorite food is beef steak that i have tasted in manchester . I think the British food is very unhealthy because it has high that can make people ger more and more fatter easily. I think The food of my country is healthier than the food of British. Many foof have low calorie in my country . I think that it is the best food is noddles in my country There are many different ways to make it, so i don not tell you .

Reply
jauris
7/11/2012 05:33:08 pm

My favourite kind of food that I have tasted here isn't English food, this is lebanese. I haven't tasted English food but I know that it's less good than in my country. In my country, this is gastronomic food so I think it's the best food in the world. For me, the best food in my country is the "foie gras". I eat this only in the restaurant so I don't know how to cook it.

Reply
Mu Mohammad
7/11/2012 05:35:51 pm

My favourite foood is lasaneya it's king of itallian food it's very delicious also it's hot so makes you warm.The food in U.K I think it's not too bad but some food I can't eat it even look to it any way I haven't tried every thing so I don't really. The best food in my country it's Kabsah its cooked by rice and chiken, but I don't know how to make it my mom always make it and very delicious and tasty.

Reply
Mohamed El Saheli
7/11/2012 05:36:18 pm

The best food I've teasted in Manchester is arabic food. The British food is simple but is good, you can find any kind of British food not only Fish and Chips. But, the British food is not better than my country (Venezuelan Food). We have more kind of food and with more teasty. For example one of popular food is "Pabellon". I missing it....

Reply
amani k
7/11/2012 05:36:54 pm

i have eaten mash potato and also i have roast dinner and it was really delicious dish also it's famous meal in united kingdom.
some of the restaurant in manchster as fast food restaurant are tasty and spicy but some time we need to make it salty, in some days if I eat big meal i usually do walk exersise to not become obese and i like to be healthy.

Reply
Chrystel
7/11/2012 05:37:31 pm

I have tested for the moment a breakfast who was savoury. But you have many calories.

I think the british is very different from the French food. Because in the UK, you don't have many vegetables in the dishes, the people eat a lot of fast food which creates obesity. I feel that the English do not eat healthy food. In France, you have different dishes with vegetables and a varied food and good for health.

I think, the best food in my country is the "foie gras", it's really famous in France but I don't know make it. You can find a recipe on internet.

Reply
Mohammad
7/11/2012 05:37:40 pm

My favorite food here in Manchester is fish and chips.

The best food in my country it's rice with meat .

I must eat it when i back to my home .

I advice foreign people try the Arabic food .

Reply
SallouM
7/11/2012 05:38:06 pm


My favorite food here in Manchester is the Indian food I have been in agood restaurant that have alot of choices and it is veary nice. In the other hand I think Brithis food is not so good maybe because I only tried a few meals but I'll try more of this food to make a good review. The differences with the food in my country are huge starting with the taste because I'm from Saudi Arabia and is well know that we have heavy food but also avary good test, one of the most typical meals in my country is " kapsa "

Reply
He Yan
7/11/2012 05:39:28 pm

My favorite food is rice in my coutry. I have already tasted in China town, Manchester. Before I came to Manchester, my friend said that British food is very difference with Chinese food. In my opinion, In England there are many fast food and person likes it very much. But I think it is unhealthy. We have to eat lots of vegetables and fruits. I like English full breakfast. It is very delicious. I think the best food is cooking pog and we call it "shredded pork with garlic sauce". It is very nice and many people likes it in China. But I can't cook it. When I want to eat it, I'm going to reasturant.

Reply
abdulah
7/11/2012 05:39:48 pm

My favourite food is curry checken it is very delicious I like it as well as arabic food in Manchester. I must eat it because I like it.
it is ok but some food Idon't like it For example, mushraooms with meat. it has so diffierence between british food and saudi food on the other hand taste and flavor also but when I stay here I must eat british food because I stay with host family
I like kapsa. The kapsa is need to a long time for cook it.

Reply
Fahad
7/11/2012 05:40:36 pm

All restaurants that I saw fantastic but I think is Nawaab restaurant is better everybody must visit in this restaurant .
The British food are tastey includ fish and ships with soup .
The differences food here in the United Kingdom and food in Kingdom of Saudia Arabia is more different .
I think the best food in Kingdom of Saudia Arabia Al Kabsaa includ rice with meat or rice with chicken and salad and soft drink such as Al Mandee , Haneeth and Mathqut .

Reply
Barbara
7/11/2012 05:44:28 pm

•What is your favourite kind of food that you have tasted here in Manchester?
My favourite kind of food that I have tasted in Manchester is the Indian food, but you should take care because is very spicy!

•What do you think of British food? What are the differences between food here in the UK and food in your country?
I'm living in a residence, so I am use to cooking there. Then, I haven't tasted a lot of British food yet. Anyway, I think that the Spanish food is more varied because here, in Manchester, I can't find in the supermarket many ingredients which I can find in Spain.

•What do you think is the best food in your country? How do you make it?
I think that the best food in my country is the omelette (maybe, also croquettes!) To make omelette, you need potatoes, eggs, onions, salt and a good pan!
You must fry the potatoes with onions and when the potatoes are soft, you must strain it and mix with the eggs. Then, you put it in the pan and after 4-5 min, your omelette will be ready.

Reply
Daniela Ruchti
26/9/2013 06:45:00 pm

The best food I have tried in Manchester at the moment is '' the Burrito'' that we can find in Piccadilly. I don't like a lot the British food.. It's very unhealthy and for lunch we only can eat ''fast food''. In my country ( Switzerland) the food it's quiet healthy we are able to eat fast-food as well but for lunch you could find good and healthy food. My country is famous for its Chocolate and its cheese Fondue. This meal is more eaten in Winter than in Summer. Because after a cold and snowy day a cheese Fondue for Dinner is just Perfect !

Reply
soo mi kim
26/9/2013 06:45:39 pm

My favourite food in Manchester is Fish and Chips. But I always can`t finish eating all. Last night I was really hungry, so I tried eat all of Fish and Chips. I have finished almost eating, But then the stomach hung down today...I think all of British food`s are too much oily and unhealthy. I`m trying to cook Japanese food by my self for my body. Sushi is the best food in my country. To make Sushi, you only need rice and fresh fish.

Reply



Leave a Reply.